NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING
TITLE 9. HEALTH SERVICES
CHAPTER 22. ARIZONA HEALTH CARE COST CONTAINMENT SYSTEM

ADMINISTRATION
PREAMBLE
1. Article. Part. or tion Affected (as applicabl Rulemaking Action:
R9-22-731 Amend

Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 36-2999.72
Implementing statute: A.R.S. § 36-2999.72

3. Citations to all related noti lished in the Register a ified in R1-1-409(A) that pertain to th
record of the proposed rule: Not applicable.

Name: Nicole Fries

Address: AHCCCS Office of Administrative Legal Services

801 E. Jefferson
Phoenix, AZ 85034

Telephone: (602) 417-4232

Fax: (602) 253-9115

E-mail: AHCCCSRules@azahcccs.gov
Website: www.azahcccs.gov

An agency’s justification and reason why a rule s
include an explanation about the rulemaking:
Through this rulemaking, AHCCCS proposes to update the intended Health Care Investment Fund (HCIF)
assessment amounts for FFY 2023. One of the main purposes of the HCIF is to make directed payments to
hospitals, pursuant to 42 CFR § 438.6(c), that supplement the base reimbursement rate provided to hospitals for
services provided to persons eligible for Title XIX Services. These directed payments have been named Hospital
Enhanced Access Leading to Health Improvements Initiative (HEALTHII) payments. Additionally, the HCIF is
used to increase base reimbursement for services reimbursed under the dental fee schedule and physician fee
schedule.

Hospitals received their first HEALTHII directed payment in December 2020 and will continue receiving
directed payments on a quarterly basis. Annually, HEALTHII payments represent a net increase of over $1.2
billion. To ensure adequate HCIF is available to provide the full State Match required to fund the physician and
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dental rate increases as required by Laws 2020, Chapter 46 and the HEALTHII directed payments, AHCCCS
intends to amend the rates located in this rule.

10 d aata u
No studies were ¢

J L ACI (] ana a
onducted relev

ant to the rule.

Z. A_showing of good cause why the rulemaking is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the

rulemaking will diminish a previ rant of authority of a political ivision of this state:

Not applicable.

The Health Care Investment Fund hospital assessment established in A.R.S. § 36-2999.72 will be matched by
federal funds. The majority of the assessment funds and accompanying federal funds will be used to provide an
increase for base reimbursement for services reimbursed under the dental fee schedule and physician fee
schedule and for quarterly supplemental payments to Arizona hospitals. Many of the providers of that medical
care are considered small businesses located in Arizona.

A.R.S. §36-2999.72 prohibits the assessed hospitals from passing the cost of the assessment on to patients or third
parties who pay for care in the hospital. In the aggregate, the Administration expects to return over $1 billion in
FFY 2023 in incremental payments for medical services than will be collected through the assessment. Along with
a copy of this proposed exempt rule making, the Administration has posted to its website information regarding
the fiscal impact of this amendment to hospitals:
https://azahccces.gov/PlansProviders/CurrentProviders/State/proposedrules.html

im men

Name: Nicole Fries

Address: AHCCCS Office of Administrative Legal Services
801 E. Jefferson
Phoenix, AZ 85034

Telephone: (602) 417-4232

Fax: (602) 253-9115

E-mail: AHCCCSRules@azahcccs.gov

Website: www.azahcccs.gov

10. The time,. place. and nature of the pr ings to make. amend. repeal. or renumber the rule. or if no

proposed rule: Proposed rule language will be available on the AHCCCS website. Please send comments to
the above address by the close of the comment period, 5:00 p.m., July 5, 2022.

Date: July 5, 2022

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location:  meet.google.com/vvo-hjzw-iou
Nature: Public Hearing
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g 2 - beg atute applicable to the specific agency or to any.
ific rul | f rul iditionall bi Council revi ] RS, §§41-
1052 and 41-1055 shall 1 to the followi L

No other matters have been prescribed.

Q a2¢l g 14 OUNCL INAtiC DLE DCA D d C ADD

a. Whether the rule requires a permit. whether a general permit is used and if not, the reasons why a
general permit is not used:
Not applicable.

The rulemaking must be established consistent with 42 CFR Part 433 Subpart B. The rule is not more stringent

than federal law.

hether a person mitted an analvsis to the agency that compares the rule’s impact of th
mpetitiven f iness in this state to the impact on iness in other states:

No analysis was submitted.

rules: Not applicable.

13. The full text of the rules follows:
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TITLE 9. HEALTH SERVICES
CHAPTER 22. ARIZONA HEALTH CARE COST CONTAINMENT SYSTEM
ADMINISTRATION
ARTICLE 7. STANDARDS FOR PAYMENTS

Section

R9-22-731 Health Care Investment Fund - Hospital Assessment
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R9-22-731. Health Care Investment Fund - Hospital Assessment

A. For purposes of this Section, terms are the same as defined in A.A.C. R9-22-730 as provided below
unless the context specifically requires another meaning:

B. Beginning October 1, 20242022, for each Arizona licensed hospital not excluded under subsection (I) shall
be subject to an assessment payable on a quarterly basis. The assessment shall be levied against the legal
owner of each hospital as of the first day of the quarter, and except as otherwise required by subsections
(D), (E) and (F). For the period beginning October 1, 20242022, the assessment for each hospital shall be
amount equal to the sum of: (1) the number of discharges reported on the hospital’s 2019 Medicare Cost
Report, excluding discharges reported on the Medicare Cost Report as “Other Long Term Care
Discharges,” multiplied by the following rates appropriate to the hospital’s peer group; and (2) the amount
of outpatient net patient revenues multiplied by the following rate appropriate to the hospital’s peer group:
1. $204-75178.25 per discharge and 3-37232.9619% of outpatient net patient revenues for

hospitals located in a county with a population less than 500,000 that are designated as type:
hospital, subtype: short-term.

2. $204-75178.25 per discharge and +-40511.2341% of outpatient net patient revenues for hospitals
designated as type: hospital, subtype: critical access hospital.

3. $54-2544.75 per discharge and +405+1.2341% of outpatient net patient revenues for hospitals
designated as type: hospital, subtype: long term.

4. $54:2544.75 per discharge and +405+1.2341% of outpatient net patient revenues for hospitals
designated as type: hospital, subtype: psychiatric, that reported 2,500 or more discharges on the
2019 Medicare Cost Report.

5. $464-00142.75 per discharge and 3-65333.2087% of outpatient net patient revenues for hospitals
designated as type: hospital, subtype: short-term with 20% of total licensed beds licensed as
pediatric, pediatric intensive care and neonatal intensive care as reported in the hospital’s 2019
Uniform Accounting Report.

6. $3484-25160.50 per discharge and 4:24533.7024% of outpatient net patient revenues for hospitals
designated as type: hospital, subtype: short- term with at least 10% but less than 20% of total
licensed beds licensed as pediatric, pediatric intensive care and neonatal intensive care as
reported in the hospital’s 20482019 Uniform Accounting Report.

7. $41-0035.75 per discharge and +4244+0.9873% of outpatient net patient revenues for hospitals
designated as type: hospital, subtype: children’s.

8. $204-75178.25 per discharge and 5-:62054.9365% of outpatient net patient revenues for hospitals
designated as type: hospital, subtype: short- term not included in another peer group.

C. Peer groups for the four quarters beginning October 1 of each year are established based on hospital
license type and subtype designated in the Provider & Facility Database for Arizona Medical Facilities
posted by the Arizona Department of Health Services Division of Licensing Services on its website

January 2, 26212022.
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Notwithstanding subsection (B), psychiatric discharges from a hospital that reported having a psychiatric
sub-provider in the hospital’s 2019 Medicare Cost Report, are assessed a rate of $51-2544.75 for each
discharge from the psychiatric sub-provider as reported in the 2019 Medicare Cost Report. All
discharges other than those reported as discharges from the psychiatric sub-provider are assessed at the
rate required by subsection (B).

Notwithstanding subsection (B), rehabilitative discharges from a hospital that reported having a
rehabilitative sub-provider in the hospital’s 2019 Medicare Cost Report, are assessed a rate of $0 for each
discharge from the rehabilitative sub-provider as reported in the 2019 Medicare Cost Report. All
discharges other than those reported as discharges from the rehabilitative sub-provider are assessed at the
rate required by subsection (B).

Notwithstanding subsection (B), for any hospital that reported more than 24,00023;060-discharges

on the hospital’s 2019 Medicare Cost Report, discharges in excess of 24,00023,000-are assessed a

rate of $26-2518.00 for each discharge in excess of 24,00023;000. The initial 24,00023,600-

discharges are assessed at the rate required by subsection (B).

Assessment notice. On or before the 10th day of the first month of the quarter or upon CMS approval,
whichever is later, the Administration shall send to each hospital a notification that the assessment invoice
is available to be viewed on a secure website. The invoice shall include the hospital’s peer group
assignment and the assessment due for the quarter.

Assessment due date. The assessment must be received by the Administration no later than the 10" day of
the second month of the quarter.

Excluded hospitals. The following hospitals are excluded from the assessment based on the hospital’s
2019 Medicare Cost Report and Provider & Facility Database for Arizona Medical Facilities posted by the
Arizona Department of Health Services Division of Licensing Services on its website for January 2,
20212022

1. Hospitals owned and operated by the state, the United States, or an Indian tribe.

2. Hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: short-term that have a license number

beginning “SH”.

3. Hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: psychiatric that reported fewer than 2,500
discharges on the 20482019 Medicare Cost Report.

4. Hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype; rehabilitation.

5. Hospitals designated as type: med-hospital, subtype: special hospitals.

6. Hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: short-term located in a city with a population

greater than one million, which on average have at least 15 percent of inpatient days for patients
who reside outside of Arizona, and at least 50 percent of discharges as reported on the 2019
Medicare Cost Report are reimbursed by Medicare.

7. Hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: short-term that have at least 25 percent Medicare
swing beds as percentage of total Medicare days, per the 2019 Medicare Cost Report.
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8. Hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: short-term that are an urban public acute care

hospital.
New hospitals. For hospitals that did not file a 2019 Medicare Cost Report because of the date the

hospital began operations:

1. If the hospital was open on the January 2 preceding the October assessment start date, the hospital
assessment will begin on October 1 following the date the hospital began operating.

2. If the hospital began operating between January 3 and June 30, the assessment will begin on
October 1 of the following calendar year.

A hospital is not considered a new hospital based on a change in ownership.

4. The assessment will be based on the discharges reported in the hospital’s first Medicare Cost
Report and Uniform Accounting Report, which includes 12 months-worth of data, except when
any of the following apply;

a. If there is not a complete 12 months-worth of data available, the assessment will be
based on the annualized number of discharges from the date hospital operations began
through December 31 preceding the October assessment start date. The hospital shall
self-report the discharge data and all other data requested by the Administration
necessary to determine the appropriate assessment to the Administration no later than
January preceding the assessment start date for the new hospitals. “Annualized” means
divided by a ratio equal to the number of months of data divided by 12 months.

b. If more than 12 months of data is available, the assessment will be based on the most
recent 12 months of self-reported data, as of December 31;

5. For purposes of calculating subpart 4, if a new hospital shares a Medicare Identification Number
with an existing hospital, the assessment amount will be based on self-reported data from the new
hospital instead of the Medicare Cost Report. The data shall include the number of discharges and
all other data requested by the Administration necessary to determine the appropriate assessment.

6. For hospitals providing self-reported data, described in subpart 4 and 5:

a. Psychiatric discharges will be annualized to determine if subsections (B)(4) or (I)(3)
apply to the assessment amount.

b. Discharges will be annualized to determine if subsection (F) applies to the assessment
amount.

Changes of ownership. The parties to a change of ownership shall promptly provide written notice to the

Administration of a change of ownership and any agreement regarding the payment of the assessment.

The assessed amount will continue at the same amount applied to the prior owner. Assessments are the

responsibility of the owner of record as of the first day of the quarter; however, this rule is not intended to

prohibit the parties to a change of ownership from entering into an agreement for a new owner to assume
the assessment responsibility of the owner of record as of the first day of the prior quarter.

Hospital closures. Hospitals that close shall pay a proportion of the quarterly assessment equal to that
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portion of the quarter during which the hospital operated.

Required information for the inpatient assessment. For any hospital that has not filed a 2019 Medicare
Cost report, or if the 2019 Medicare Cost report does not include the reliable information sufficient for the
Administration to calculate the inpatient assessment, the Administration shall use data reported on the
2019 Uniform Accounting Report filed by the hospital in place of the 2019 Medicare Cost report to
calculate the assessment. If the 2019 Uniform Accounting Report filed by the hospital does not include
reliable information sufficient for the Administration to calculate the inpatient assessment amounts, the
hospital shall provide the Administration with data specified by the Administration necessary in place of
the 2019 Medicare Cost report to calculate the assessment.

Required information for the outpatient assessment. For any hospital that has not filed a 2019 Uniform
Accounting Report, or if the 2019 Uniform Accounting Report does not reconcile to 2019 Audited
Financial Statements, the Administration shall use the data reported on 26482019 Audited Financial
Statements to calculate the outpatient assessment. If the 2019 Audited Financial Statements do not
include the reliable information sufficient for the Administration to calculate the outpatient assessment,
the Administration all use data reported on the 2019 Medicare Cost report. If the Medicare Cost report
does not include reliable information sufficient for the Administration to calculate the outpatient
assessment amounts, the hospital shall provide the Administration with data specified by the
Administration necessary in place of the 2019 Medicare Cost report to calculate the outpatient assessment.
Enforcement. If a hospital does not comply with this section, the director may suspend or revoke the
hospital’s provider agreement. If the hospital does not comply within 180 days after the hospital’s
provider agreement is suspended or revoked, the director shall notify the director of the Department of

Health Services who shall suspend or revoke the hospital’s license.
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